Word to Melody Ehsani……

30 Jul

I’ve been taking a hiatus from all things electronic. Sitting in front of my computer for more than 4 hours a day had begun to take its due toll on me. I am in love with the culture fad/phenomenon known as blogging and I will always be in love with words and thus eager to write, but I am falling deeply out of love with my desk chair. Me and social networking sites have already divided the cars, house and I just went ahead and gave up custody of the kids. I’m tired of doing everything electronically, especially networking.

I live for the unpredictable high that is spontaneous parle. I am a connoisseur of conversation and to me the internet is like bourbon in a plastic cup. For the average liquor consumer bourbon in a plastic cup is no big deal, it get’s you right like is supposed to. However, for the liquor connoisseur to truly do right by their bourbon, to truly experience the full and complex flavor and aroma of their poison of choice , it’s got to come in a snifter.

Right now, it’s about reconnecting with life. I haven’t been on Facebook, twitter, vodpod, YouTube, MySpace, or this site in a while….and I don’t really miss it…okay maybe a little, but the point is I’m taking the time to explore and rediscover the world around me, and it feels real good.  I’ve hit somewhat of a creative roadblock but I’m not even mad because I’m ready to see what the detour has in store. 

The inspiration for this rambling of a post is none other than the luminescent visionary Melody Ehsani. During the course of my late-night Google hunt I came across an interview of her on The Style Philosophy. The interviewer asked Ms. Ehsani what age she was she began her business, this is what she said:

“Twenty-six. Its important for women to do very deep soul searching right now. We’re in such an amazing time period, where the equilibrium of the world is shifting power, up to now men have ruled the world by way of force and dominance (things they’re naturally more gifted in), and we’re entering the age of intuition and heightened mental perception (things women are more naturally gifted in). So now more than ever we (women) have to step up and JUST BE WHO WE WERE CREATED TO BE. This is a really difficult thing, because it means that we can’t operate from a place of history, and we have to create positions in the world that have never existed before. So I recommend that women do their inner work, and figure out what their place is…and once you reconnect with what authentically feels familiar, even though there might be opposition from the ones closest to you initially, the Universe will support your divine blueprint.”

She took me to church, and you know it’s good when I feel like I’ve got to write about it.  There is no doubt in my mind that reading this statement was part of my divine blueprint. I’m moving from North Carolina to California on September 3rd of this year. I came to the conclusion that if I was serious about starting my career, I had to surround myself with a different type of energy, a place where my dreams weren’t so out of reach. More than that, I just needed to go away to find myself, take myself completely out of my comfort zone and away from the good intentions of those who love me and think they know what I need.  After returning  my hometown for almost two years, I feel that my time to cocoon is  complete. I’m ready to explore and reconnect with the world and people around me with new eyes and a fresh perspective. I’ve  spent a great deal of time separating the contents of my mind and emptying out all the bull that’s taking up space. Like an empty stomach, my only desire is to be full and I’m hungry to fill myself with that which I have yet to discover. Earlier tonight I made a vow that I would allow myself two years in which my main priorities would be to re-focus, re-learn, re-train, be re- inspired, and most importantly make connections.  When that period of time ends I know I will have an even  clearer direction than I do currently of where I want to go in this life and how I’m going to get there. How old will I be when I’m ready to take over the world?  I found it oddly inspiring that at the end of my sabbatical, I’ll be the same age as Melody was when she layed the foundation for her visionary empire. Twenty-six…..

Leave a Reply

